The Iowa City alumnae have a long history centering around our support of the Beta Omicron Chapter at the University of Iowa. The chapter was the first Kappa Alpha Theta colony and the alumnae club was instrumental in the founding of the Beta Omicron Chapter in 1926! The chapter was officially identified as an Alumnae Club in 1939. 

We have consistently stepped forward and maintain a full chapter advisory board, house corporation board and alumnae events with the chapter.  Some of our favorite events throughout the years were the couples parties, Tote Bags for Casa Kids, spring bazaars, mother-daughter Christmas teas, Kappa-Theta-Pi Phi event and Let’s do Lunch gatherings.

We are proud of our members who have served at national officers for Kappa Alpha Theta: Mary Jane Beach as Grand President, and as ou
r National Panhellenic Council (NPC) Delegate, Elaine Ivey on Grand Council. Sue Wolken and Jane Rowat as College District President and Mary Lea Kruse as Alumnae District President to name a few!

The Alumnae Club became an Alumnae Chapter in 2002 and in August 2010 was reidentified to include the Cedar Rapids alumnae.

The Iowa City/Cedar Rapids Alumnae Chapter is consistently awarded for their performance. They have been noted by the Fraternity for the following achievement awards: Pansy (2010) , Black and Gold (2012), and Twin Stars (2014)  recognition at Kappa Alpha Theta Grand Conventions. In 2014, we were one of only 34 alumnae chapters to receive the Twin Star Award.  

We have alums from over 22 undergraduate chapters!

Page last updated on Wednesday, July 02, 2014 3:05 PM (11:35:2015)